As the greetings of “Happy New Year” come in from friends and family I can’t help but stop and think for a while on what lies ahead.  No one

can know for sure if it truly will be a happy new year, but only if we are trusting in God are we able to say that come what may, with my Saviour by my side will it be a joyous new year.   What more could one ask?

CHRIST is my joy.  I find as I get older and mature more in my faith in Christ, that He is the ONLY joy in this world.  He is the provider of all the ‘little’ joys we have; our children, spouse, family and friends.  All of these are given to us by Him and only when we give them back to Him are we able to experience true and lasting JOY.  The world can only offer a longing for more as it can never satisfy the soul.  Only Christ can do that, so it is Him we must seek diligently.

John 15:11  These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.

John 16:24b …Ask, and you will receive, that your joy may be full. 

Matthew Henry wrote, “The joy of the hypocrite is but for a moment, but the joy of those who abide in Christ’s love is a continual feast.”

Oh, Believer, how diligent we must be to abide in Him who provides this feast!  Why would anyone desire to stray?  How could the calling of the world and its short-term happiness be of any interest to those who have tasted the meal of Fellowship with our Lord?  The meal of unending Joy.  Joy that fills and satisfies.

The year 2010 promises to be one of many changes for me.  My oldest son will be getting married and moving out for good.  My youngest will graduate high school and move on to college and adulthood.  As a devoted mother for the past 21 ½ years this will prove to be a difficult time for me.  It will also prove to be a year of growth in the Lord and I look forward to what God will do in my life as I face these changes.  I can already see God working in giving me a new focus and new interests for serving Him and His people.  I’ve spent the past years devoted to my sons and they have been my mission field (I feel all Christian mothers have this calling, whether they realize it or not)  Now, as they are flying out of the nest, I see new opportunities to serve the Lord and that is exciting.  I am realizing that the only way I can get through this time of change is to lean more and more on Him.  He alone must be my JOY.  

As you face the new year don’t settle for just a happy new year.  That is what the world has to offer, and it will not last.  Seek the One who can provide a truly Joyful new year.  A joy that completely satisfies for not only a year, but for ETERNITY.

 Joyous New Year!

Pam

 

