Tags

, ,


This evening I shared in a very touching event.  Ten other sisters in Christ along with myself gathered for a time of prayer for 2 in the group.  One is caring for an elderly mother who is near passing to be with Christ, and the other is carrying the burden and pain of family troubles.  As I sat in this circle of women and listened as each one lifted up each of these women to the Lord it hit me, “Yes!  This is it.”  This is what Believers do.  We are there for one another.  We are interceding, encouraging, helping with physical needs as well as spiritual ones.  I saw this small group of ladies of all ages and stages in life come together with one thing in mind, bowing before our Lord on behalf of someone else and seeking God’s perfect and just will.

I have felt for a long time that we as Christians need to get back to the basics.  We need to seek out the hurting brothers and sisters in Christ and exhort them, pray for them, love them.  We need to take an interest in each other’s lives.  Isn’t that what they did in the early Church?  They would sell all they had if one of the brothers was in need.  We have enough large events, conferences, retreats, the list goes on and on.  Loud speakers, loud music, and too much food.  What we all need is a little small group time with a group of fellow Believers who love to talk about the Lord and a cup of coffee.  That’s it.  Give me 5 close friends who love the Lord around a kitchen table any day over a huge conference and thousands in the bleachers.  Some of my favorite discussions happen after such an event as I chat with my closest friends about what God is doing in our lives.  We just need to talk to one another. 

Prior to this time of prayer I had sat with another great friend as we prayed for our students, and for God to move on their young and lost souls.  How utterly amazing it is to be able to hand over all your cares and worries to God and know that He has heard.  I feel God is moving among us and I am so ready!

Rom 10:1 Brethren, my heart’s desire and my prayer to God for them is for their salvation.

The effective and fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.  James 5:16b

God hears us and when our desires are His desires then things start to happen.  By that I mean our desires have changed and have become what He has desired all along.  Tonight I think we all agreed we need to get together and do this more.  It not only lifted and blessed the two who are hurting, but it also blessed and encouraged us who had come to pray.  I hope this sparks a much needed interest in the more intimate things of Christ among Believers.  I feel very blessed to have been involved with interceding for my sisters and also for the youth who need Christ so much.  I will continue to pray and expect great and marvelous things from our Lord.

Diligently Seeking Him,

sig1

