Tags


As I ponder on what to write today I can’t help but think about the year ahead.  Regardless of what I did (or didn’t do) in the passing year I now have a “new” year in which to “start over” , so to speak.  What will I do with this clean slate? 

Maybe it’s just me but I love paper.  Strange, I know, but there is something really great about a brand-new notebook.  Fresh, clean, without marks or smudges.  I can hardly wait to get it home, open it carefully and think of something really great to write on those pages.  I’m careful not to just scribble, I want neat and clean lines.  Funny though, as the pages go by and the notebook is not so new anymore, how I become careless with those once fresh pages.  Scribbling on some, ripping out others and soon my fresh clean notebook is just a book tossed in a pile with the rest and I’m looking for a new notebook once again.

We look at the new year in much the same way.  We think that this old year is gone and we have this fresh, clean start.  The first week or two we are careful to not smudge ourselves, keeping whatever resolution we made for the new year.  As the months go by though, we begin to slip and let things slide and before we know it, we’re back at December 31st again, looking forward to our new chance to to “it” right.  The endless cycle continues.   It’s exhausting and reason to completely lose all hope!

Don’t lose hope!  There is one thing you CAN do that will not have to be done over next New Year’s Eve.  Like that old notebook that has scribbles, smudges and mistakes, you can be renewed.  Those old pages can be torn out and tossed away never to be seen or read again.  (Psalm 51:10, Matt. 8:2-3)

As far as the east is from the west, So far has He removed our transgressions from us.   Pslam 103:12

Make this new year truly NEW.  You can become like that new notebook, fresh and clean and whiter than snow.  Jesus is waiting, ready to erase your mistakes, once and for all. 

Now, for those of us who have done this already we have another call.    To seek Him DILIGENTLY.   If you must have a New Year’s resolution why not make it one that really matters-to seek HIM diligently.  That is my prayer for 2009.

  Pslam 119: 1-4   How blessed are those whose way is blameless, Who walk in the law of the LORD.

How blessed are those who observe His testimonies, Who seek Him with all their heart.

They also do no unrighteousness; They walk in His ways.

You have ordained Your precepts, That we should keep them diligently.

Matthew 5:6  “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.

Are you seeking Him DILIGENTLY?  Am I?  I think more posts will be coming about this word.

Why not start TODAY?

Lord, thank you for giving me a new start, a clean page and for totally erasing all of the mistakes I made.  I thank you that you continue to cover over my smudges-that I all have to do is confess to you my sin and you are faithful and just to forgive and cleanse me. (1 John 1:9)  I also pray for my brothers and sisters, as well as myself, that we would truly seek You, as your Word says-Diligently.  It is when we do that we truly will know You and be blessed.  In the Name of Jesus, Amen.

Blessings Today,

Pammy Liz

