Tags

,


As I write this entry I have to tell you that I’m not feeling the best, so bear with me.  My throat is sore and my body aches, but still I write.  Talk about dedication!  (If that is what you’d call it.)

We have church on Wednesday nights where my family and I attend.  We call it Family Night and it is a great time of fellowship and learning.  We have a great meal served up “family-style” and afterwards everyone has different Bible studies to choose from.  I’m involved in our children’s program which is AWANA.  If you haven’t heard of  AWANA it is really a fun program that puts the Word of God into the minds and hearts of children.  Anyway, this was our second night of AWANA this past Wednesday.  My son, Paul, is the Children’s minister and he has a great way with kids.  We sang our songs, recited our verses then settled the kids down for the Bible lesson taught by Paul.  I thought it would be a difficult feat, to settle down pre-school thru 6th graders.  Imagine my surprise-  Picture this; Paul gets up before this group of children in our church’s sanctuary, opens his Bible to Genesis, Chapter one, and proceeds to read.  He read the account of creation word for word right out of God’s Word.  He didn’t use simple language for kids, he didn’t use a Children’s Bible, he didn’t show pictures as he read, he just read.  As I looked around the room I was so touched to see these kids, who had been so rambunctious just moments earlier, sitting and gazing at Paul as he read.  They were entranced by what he was reading.  My group, the Kindergarten thru 2nd graders, literally were sitting with their mouths gaping open with their eyes fixed on Paul as he read.  You may be wondering why I was so touched and also amazed at this.  It just proved to me that the Word of God has Power. 

We sometimes think that children are too young to understand the Truths of God’s Word.  So, some will water it down thinking it will be easier for their little minds to comprehend.  There are all sorts of children’s Bibles available at our local Bible bookstore. There are videos with loveable cartoon characters that will make it more fun to learn God’s Word.  There are games, music CDs, and tons of gimmicks, but when you clear all of that clutter way, what really gets into their hearts and minds is just the simple Truth.   We don’t really need all of that stuff.  Oh, don’t get me wrong.  It’s all good, but don’t think that they won’t understand or be interested if you read to them straight from the scriptures.  The same scriptures you read each day.  God’s word is powerful.

Hebrews 4:12 For the word of God [is] living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

If you could have seen those kids you would understand what I mean.  They listened with mouths and hearts open.  It was all new and exciting to them.  We all could take a lesson from that.

Matthew 18:3-6

  And he said: “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.

“And whoever welcomes a little child like this in my name welcomes me.

But if anyone causes one of these little ones who believe in me to sin, it would be better for him to have a large millstone hung around his neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.

 

On another note:  My friends, Rod and Nikki, are expecting their first child.  They were able to see the heartbeat this past week and once again I was awestruck by God, our Great Creator.  This precious baby is the size of a blueberry AND you can see the tiny little heart inside just beating away.  Now if that doesn’t speak, no shout MIRACLE to you, I don’t know what else could!  God is so AMAZING!

 

Blessings Today,

Pammy Liz

